New Releases →

Please click on a book cover to learn more.

Shopping Cart
 0 items ($0.00)
Where We Arrive
MOUNTAIN & FLOWER: Selected Poems of Mykola Vorobiov  •  Translated from the Ukrainian by Maria G. Rewakowicz
All the Wrong Places  
  Molly Giles

ISBN 978-0-9908193-2-5
$19.95 / $21.95 (Canada)
6 x 9
160 pp
Pub Date: Spring 2015

Winner of the Spokane Prize for Short Fiction, Molly Giles’ nineteen strange, tightly woven tales merge the mythic and the modern with dark humor and deep humanity. Many of the stories contain contemporary versions of ancient guides: a ghost dog seen by a young drifter in love with a much older guru; a wild goat on a cliff forever standing beside her dead ram glimpsed by a woman whose husband battles cancer; a volcano goddess with a small dog appearing to a woman whose boyfriend is flirting with her teenage daughter. The vacationland settings, Hawaii, Ireland, Baja and California among them, accentuate the characters’ sense of displacement.

All the Wrong Places is a joint publishing effort between Lost Horse Press and Eastern Washington University’s Creative Writing program known as Willow Springs Editions. Willow Springs Editions is a small literary press housed in Eastern Washington University’s Inland Northwest Center for Writers in Spokane. The staff of WSE are mostly creative writing MFA students under the direction of poet Christopher Howell. As part of the internship, students work with Lost Horse Press to get hands-on experience with every part of the publishing process, from reading manuscripts to editing, designing, and marketing.


About the Author

Molly Giles

Molly Giles

Molly Giles is the author of three award winning story collections, Rough Translations, Creek Walk, and Bothered, and a novel, Iron Shoes. Previous awards include the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction, the Small Press Short Fiction Award, the Boston Globe Award, the Bay Area Book Reviewers Award, two Pushcart Prizes, and an NEA grant.