New Releases →

Please click on a book cover to learn more.

Shopping Cart
In Memory of a Banyan Tree: Poems of the Outside World: 1985 to 2022
Three Wooden Trunks
The Country Where Everyone’s Name Is Fear: Selected Poems
August 15, 2013

2013 Idaho Prize for Poetry

The winner of the Idaho Prize for Poetry 2013—selected by final judge, Sam Hamill—is THE GOLD SHOP OF BA-‘ALI by Yahya Frederickson of Moorhead, Minnesota. He will receive $1000 plus publication by Lost Horse Press. The annual prize is given for a poetry collection. The deadline submissions to the Idaho Prize 2014 is May 15, 2014.

Yahya Frederickson received a BA in The Individual and Society from Minnesota State University Moorhead, an MFA in Creative Writing (Poetry) from the University of Montana, and his PhD in English from the University of North Dakota. Dr. Frederickson spent much of the decade between graduate degrees in Sana’a, Yemen, where he taught English as a Foreign Language, composition, and poetry. His areas of specialization include poetry, Middle Eastern literature, cross-cultural contact literature, and Henry David Thoreau. A lover of international travel, he has visited Canada, Ethiopia, Greece, Mexico, Nigeria, Tunisia, and Saudi Arabia, in addition to Yemen. Dr. Frederickson’s poems and book reviews have been published in national literary journals.

Congratulations, Dr. Frederickson! Thank you to all who sent manuscripts for the Idaho Prize for Poetry 2013! A hearty thanks to Sam Hamill, this year’s final judge, for a difficult job well done. Thanks to first readers, Ann Elizabeth Huston and Katie Pfalzgraff, whose help and energy are always appreciated.


The Gold Shop of Ba-‘Ali by Yahya Frederickson


Cardinal Points by Sandra Larson

Web to Weave & Corn to Grind by Stephen Cramer

East & West by Piotr Florczyk

Tributaries by Laura Da’

Eventually Yours by Daniel Lusk

Church of Needles by Sarah Sousa

Back Room at the Philosophers’ Club by Christopher Buckley

After Fever by Danielle Deulen

After Lunch with Frank O’Hara by Craig Cotter

Sand Opera by Philip Metres

Unruined by Valerie Wallace

How We Bury Our Dead by Jonathan Travelstead

Mud Angel & the Last Mermaid by M.E. Silverman