New Releases →

Please click on a book cover to learn more.

Shopping Cart
THIS DREAM THE WORLD: New & Selected Poems
NASTY WOMEN POETS: An Unapologetic Anthology of Subversive Verse

Spokane Prize for Short Fiction

Spokane Prize for Short Fiction

Willow Springs Books, in collaboration with Lost Horse Press, invites submissions for The 2016 Spokane Prize for Short Fiction:
$2,000 plus publication by LOST HORSE PRESS/Willow Springs Books.

Submission deadline: June 1, 2016

Contest Information

Willow Springs Books is pleased to announce the Spokane Prize for Short Fiction. The winner will receive publication plus a $2000 cash prize. Submission guidelines can be found at

All US authors, regardless of publication history, are eligible. Manuscripts must contain page numbers and a table of contents. There is no maximum page count and stories may have been previously published in journals, anthologies, or limited edition volumes. Selected stories collections (stories previously published in books) will not be considered. Manuscripts will not be returned. Do not send novels.

Past judges have included Rick Bass, William Kittredge, Jess Walter, and John Keeble.

Recent winners:

2012 The Empty House Stories by Nathan Oates
2011 You are Not Alone by Sherril Jaffe
2010 Love Songs for the Quarantined by K.L. Cook
2009 Strange Weather by Becky Hagenston
2008 This Is Not Your City by Caitlin Horrocks
2007 Forgetting English by Midge Raymond
2006 The High Heart by Joseph Bathanti
2005 Woman in the Woods by Ann Joslin Williams

E-mail questions to Willow Springs Editions at: